Wednesday, 4 May 2011

Another Guinness World Recprd : MP for 20 Years Without Winning a Single Vote!

Guinness world record for being a MP for 20 years without winning a single
Mr Koo Tsai Kee, Member of Parliament for Tanjong Pagar GRC is retiring. We
should offer him our heartiest congratulations!
He’s been an MP for 20 years since his foray into electoral politics
in 1991.
Mr Koo should be congratulated for achieving what no other
MP anywhere has probably ever achieved. That’s why the rather toned-down announcement of his
retirement and inconspicuous reports by the media has done him a great
So, what is it that this great man has done or achieved?
Mr Koo is the only MP who has, in all of his 20 years as MP, never won a
single vote in an election!
Because he has never really ever fought an election and
never ever won a single vote in an election!
No one in Tanjong Pagar has ever had to cast a single vote for or against him in all of his 20
years as MP.
1991… 1997… 2001… & 2006!
Walkovers all! Never contested!
Indeed, whichever way you look at it, an astounding feat.
Mr Koo has, without doubt, demonstrated what it means to be a successful
"Walkover MP"!
The Straits Times, in its own small and humble way, tried to pay a
well-deserved tribute to Mr Koo by telling us that „he has served residents
in two wards in the GRC: his own Tiong Bahru ward as well as Minister Mentor
Lee Kuan Yew’s Tanjong Pagar ward, where he stands in at Mr Lee’s Meet the
People sessions.
Mr Koo is also Minister of State (MOS) for Defence. Which means he takes home
some S$1.2 to S$1.6 million a year! At the S$15,000 a month as MP and that
salary of S$1.2 to S$1.6 million a year as MOS, Mr Koo can surely retire a very rich and happy man indeed.
Not bad for an MP who never contested an election and got any votes?

No comments: